Videos

Flashback Friday: Carcinogen Blocking Effects of Turmeric

Less than a teaspoon a day of turmeric appears to significantly lower the DNA-mutating ability of cancer-causing substances.

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org for free and receive a copy of the preface for Dr. Greger’s new book, How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

This is second of a three-part video series on turmeric curcumin and its relationship to cancer. To find out more, check out the prequel, Back to Our Roots: Curry & Cancer (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/back-to-our-roots-curry-and-cancer), and the last video in the series, Turmeric Curcumin Reprogramming Cancer Cell Death (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/turmeric-curcumin-reprogramming-cancer-cell-death/).

Smokers are common research subjects for carcinogen studies. For example, see what happens to carcinogen levels when those eating processed meat start eating vegetarian in Heterocyclic Amines in Eggs, Cheese, & Creatine? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/heterocyclic-amines-in-eggs-cheese-and-creatine/)

Other foods that may protect DNA include kiwifruit (see Kiwifruit & DNA Repair: https://nutritionfacts.org/video/kiwifruit-and-dna-repair/), cruciferous vegetables (see DNA Protection from Broccoli: https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dna-protection-from-broccoli/), leafy vegetables (see Eating Green to Prevent Cancer: https://nutritionfacts.org/video/eating-green-to-prevent-cancer/), garlic (see Cancer, Interrupted: Garlic & Flavonoids: https://nutritionfacts.org/video/cancer-interrupted-garlic-flavonoids/), and green tea (see Cancer, Interrupted: Green Tea: https://nutritionfacts.org/video/cancer-interrupted-green-tea. But, which is better? See Antimutagenic Activity of Green vs. White Tea: https://nutritionfacts.org/video/antimutagenic-activity-of-green-versus-white-tea/). And, to learn about the DNA-protective power of plants in general, see Repairing DNA Damage (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/repairing-dna-damage/).

More information on cancer prevention, treatment, and reversal can be found in my annual presentations Uprooting the Leading Causes of Death (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/uprooting-the-leading-causes-of-death/) and More Than an Apple a Day: Combating Common Diseases (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/more-than-an-apple-a-day-preventing-our-most-common-diseases/).

And all of my turmeric videos can be found here (https://nutritionfacts.org/topics/turmeric/).

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-carcinogen-blocking-effects-of-turmeric-curcumin and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at https://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-carcinogen-blocking-effects-of-turmeric-curcumin. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

alicja neumiler / Adobe Stock. This image has been modified.

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.” Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• PREORDER: How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-to-survive-a-pandemic/
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Are Melamine Dishes and Polyamide Plastic Utensils Safe?
Mayo Clinic Q&A podcast: Expedited breast cancer treatment
Versatile Utensils! New Smart Gadgets on Amazon #6! Smart Utilities for every home Tik Tok China!
Amazing Art Skills Talented People #27😍Creative Ideas That Are At Another Level! Satisfying Art Work
Medical, Non-medical, and N95 masks – What’s the difference?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.