Videos

Flashback Friday: How Many Bowel Movements Should You Have & Should You Sit, Squat, or Lean?

Most people have between 3 bowel movements a day and 3 a week, but normal doesn’t necessarily mean optimal. Squatting and leaning can help straighten the anorectal angle, but a healthy enough diet should make bowel movements effortless regardless of positioning.

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter to receive our fasting infographic that covers the latest research on the risks and benefits of different types of fasting: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

I know people are suckers for poop videos! In Diet and Hiatal Hernia (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/diet-and-hiatal-hernia) I talk about the consequences of straining on stool. Hernias are better than Bedpan Death Syndrome, though, like I talked about in the 2nd half of this video. Then there’s diverticulosis (the “ballooning of out-pouchings from your colon”), which I covered in:
• Diverticulosis & Nuts (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/diverticulosis-nuts/)
• Diverticulosis: When Our Most Common Gut Disorder Hardly Existed (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/diverticulosis-when-our-most-common-gut-disorder-hardly-existed/)
• Does Fiber Really Prevent Diverticulosis? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-fiber-really-prevent-diverticulosis/)

I do have some other older videos on bowel health:
• Stool Size Matters (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/stool-size-matters/)
• Food Mass Transit (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-mass-transit/)
• Bulking Up on Antioxidants (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/bulking-up-on-antioxidants/)
• Prunes vs. Metamucil vs. Vegan Diet (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/prunes-vs-metamucil-vs-vegan-diet/)
• Breast Cancer and Constipation (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/Breast-Cancer-and-Constipation)

For more on this concept of having “normal” health parameters in a society where it’s normal to drop dead of heart attacks and other such preventable fates, see my video When Low Risk Means High Risk (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/when-low-risk-means-high-risk/).

More on that extraordinary African data here:
• Dr. Burkitt’s F-Word Diet (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/dr-burkitts-f-word-diet/)
• Our Number One Killer Can Be Stopped (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/our-number-one-killer-can-be-stopped/)
• One in a Thousand: Ending the Heart Disease Epidemic (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/one-in-a-thousand-ending-the-heart-disease-epidemic)

So excited to be able to slip in a plug for Dr. Kahn’s work. His brand of “interpreventional cardiology” can be found at http://www.drjoelkahn.com.

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-how-many-bowel-movements-should-you-have-every-day-should-you-sit-lean-or-squat and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-how-many-bowel-movements-should-you-have-every-day-should-you-sit-lean-or-squat. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”
Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

Image thanks to vinitdeekhanu via Adobe Stock.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-to-survive-a-pandemic/
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

So You Want to Be a CARDIOTHORACIC SURGEON [Ep. 13]
Lateral Lamella Spontaneous CSF Leak Repair with Free Mucosal Graft
Dr. Gregory Poland – Phase 3 clinical trial of COVID 19 vaccine underway
Do Vegetarians Really Have Higher Stroke Risk?
Comparing deaths from COVID-19 versus deaths from influenza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.