Videos

Flashback Friday: The Okinawa Diet – Living to 100

The traditional Okinawa diet is centered around vegetables, the most nutrient-dense food group. What would happen if your diet followed the same?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org for free and receive a free copy of Dr. Greger’s Evidence-Based Eating Guide: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

Yes, there are purple sweet potatoes (Yum!)

Why do those eating plant-based diets live longer? There are all sorts of mechanisms I find fascinating:

Methionine Restriction as a Life Extension Strategy (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/methionine-restriction-as-a-life-extension-strategy/)
Why Do We Age? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-do-we-age/)
Caloric Restriction vs. Animal Protein Restriction (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/caloric-restriction-vs-animal-protein-restriction/)
Turning the Clock Back 14 Years (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/turning-the-clock-back-14-years/)
Longer Life Within Walking Distance (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/longer-life-within-walking-distance/)
Prevent Cancer from Going on TOR (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/prevent-cancer-from-going-on-TOR/)
Does Meditation Affect Cellular Aging? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-meditation-affect-cellular-aging/)
Telomeres: Cap It All Off with Diet (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/telomeres-cap-it-all-off-with-diet/)
Nuts May Help Prevent Death (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/nuts-may-help-prevent-death)
Increased Lifespan from Beans (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/increased-lifespan-from-beans/)
Fruits and Longevity: How Many Minutes per Mouthful? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/fruits-veggies-and-longevity-how-many-minutes-per-mouthful/)

And a couple of new ones: The Benefits of Calorie Restriction for Longevity (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-benefits-of-calorie-restriction-for-longevity/) and Does Intermittent Fasting Increase Human Life Expectancy? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-intermittent-fasting-increase-human-life-expectancy/)

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-the-okinawa-diet-living-to-100 and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-the-okinawa-diet-living-to-100. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”
Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

Images thanks to cotaro70s via Flickr, klaber, jarmoluk, Taken, Joon2079, PublicDomainPictures, PublicDomainImages, Kaz, Activedia, margenauer, bykst, HebiFot via Pixabay, teen00000 and Ratana Prongjai via 123rf.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK – How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Mayo Clinic Q&A podcast: Aging and the immune system
COVID-19: More questions, more answers on myths and facts
Hydroxychloroquine (DMARD) – Pharmacology, mechanism of action, side effects
Bubble phonation
How video appointments are changing the way Mayo Clinic patients receive care

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.