Videos

Flashback Friday: Will You Live Longer if You Take Vitamin D Supplements & How Much Should You Take?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter to receive our fasting infographic that covers the latest research on the risks and benefits of different types of fasting: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

For an exploration of the purported links between vitamin D and obesity, diabetes, and hypertension, see my video Do Vitamin D Supplements Help with Diabetes, Weight Loss, and Blood Pressure? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-vit-d-supplements-help-diabetes-weight-loss-blood-pressure)

The “extra doughnut” effect can explain How Diet Soda Could Make Us Gain Weight (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-diet-soda-could-make-us-gain-weight/).

You may also be interested in:

The Optimal Dose of Vitamin D Based on Natural Levels (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-optimal-dose-of-vitamin-D-based-on-natural-levels)
The Best Way to Get Vitamin D: Sun, Supplements, or Salons? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-way-to-get-vitamin-D-sun-supplements-or-salons)
The Risks and Benefits of Sensible Sun Exposure (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-risks-and-benefits-of-sensible-sun-exposure)
The Best Supplement for Fibromyalgia (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-supplement-for-fibromyalgia/)
Vitamin D for Inflammatory Bowel Disease (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/vitamin-d-for-inflammatory-bowel-disease/)
Vitamin D for Asthma (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/vitamin-d-for-asthma/)
Should Vitamin D Supplements Be Taken to Prevent Falls in the Elderly? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/should-vitamin-d-supplements-be-taken-to-prevent-falls/)
Do Vitamin D Supplements Reduce the Risk of Dying from Cancer? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-vitamin-d-supplements-reduce-the-risk-of-dying-from-cancer/)

After all that work plowing through the science, the same 2,000 IU per day recommendation I made in 2011 remains: https://nutritionfacts.org/2011/09/12/dr-gregers-2011-optimum-nutrition-recommendations/

The original videos aired on July 1st 2016 and July 4th 2016.

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-will-you-live-longer-if-you-take-vitamin-d-supplements-how-much-vitamin-d-should-you-take and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at https://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-will-you-live-longer-if-you-take-vitamin-d-supplements-how-much-vitamin-d-should-you-take. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Image thanks to Peter Rosbjerg via flickr.

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.” Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-to-survive-a-pandemic/
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Mayo Clinic Q&A podcast: Back-to-school recommendations
Comparing deaths from COVID-19 versus deaths from influenza
Vegetarians and Stroke Risk Factors—Vitamin D?
What distinguishes a critically ill patient from a patient with mild symptoms of COVID-19?
Mayo Clinic Q&A podcast: Will there be an at-home test for COVID-19?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.